National Breastfeeding Month Sponsors

Interested in sponsoring CTBC’s August t-shirts? You can find our sponsorship form and more information here.

Share on Facebook
-->

Featured Box

HB 741 and 1706 scheduled for a vote on the house floor

posted on May 09, 2013 in Central Texas News, Current Efforts, Mother-Friendly Legislation, News, Statewide News, Texas by
, , ,

The Texas Legislature has the opportunity to give moms of Texas a great Mothers Day gift

Thanks to those of you who contacted your legislator and the Calendar’s Committee.  Very late on Monday night May 7, both breastfeeding bills were added to the legislative calendar!  They will come up for debate and vote this week, just in time for Mother’s Day.  Because they are running behind schedule HB 741 will probably be heard Thurs May 9 and 1706 will probably be heard on May 10.  We will definitely be watching legislators votes on this issue and will establish a report on who our breastfeeding friendly Representatives are, but we need your help before the vote to make sure that all the legislators across the state are familiar with the issue.  Please call your Rep and send an e mail to all legislators expressing your support for these very important bills

The language of the bills can be found here

HB 1706 Strengthens the right to breastfeed in public  HB 1706 provides enforcement for the nursing in public law that was established in Texas in 1994.  This bill instructs the comptroller to inform all businesses in the state that a woman does in fact have the right to breastfeed her baby anywhere that she is otherwise authorised to be and her right to be there can not be revoked simply because she begins to breastfeed.

HB 741 Extends pumping protections for working mothers who are also public employees (including teachers of public school districts)

Please call and send your e mail of suport today!

Find sample letters at txbfleg.com but even just a few sentences about why these issues are important to you are fine.  The important thing is that you let your voice be heard and urge support for both of these bills.

Find your rep here

Send an e mail to everyone in the Texas Legislature with this list:

Alma.Allen@house.state.tx.us, Roberto.Alonzo@house.state.tx.us, Carol.Alvarado@house.state.tx.us, Rafael.Anchia@house.state.tx.us, Charles.Anderson@house.state.tx.us, Trent.Ashby@house.state.tx.us, Jimmie.Aycock@house.state.tx.us, Cecil.Bell@house.state.tx.us, Dwayne.Bohac@house.state.tx.us, Dennis.Bonnen@house.state.tx.us, Greg.Bonnen@house.state.tx.us, Dan.Branch@house.state.tx.us, Cindy.Burkett@house.state.tx.us, Lon.Burnam@house.state.tx.us, Angie.Button@house.state.tx.us, bill.callegari@house.state.tx.us, Terry.Canales@house.state.tx.us, Giovanni.Capriglione@house.state.tx.us, Stefani.Carter@house.state.tx.us, Travis.Clardy@house.state.tx.us, Garnet.Coleman@house.state.tx.us, Nicole.Collier@house.state.tx.us, Byron.Cook@house.state.tx.us, Philip.Cortez@house.state.tx.us, Tom.Craddick@house.state.tx.us, Brandon.Creighton@house.state.tx.us, Myra.Crownover@house.state.tx.us, Tony.Dale@house.state.tx.us, Drew.Darby@house.state.tx.us, John.Davis@house.state.tx.us, Sarah.Davis@house.state.tx.us, Yvonne.Davis@house.state.tx.us, joe.deshotel@house.state.tx.us, Dawnna.Dukes@house.state.tx.us, Harold.Dutton@house.state.tx.us, craig.eiland@house.state.tx.us, Gary.Elkins@house.state.tx.us, Pat.Fallon@house.state.tx.us, Joe.Farias@house.state.tx.us, Marsha.Farney@house.state.tx.us, Jessica.Farrar@house.state.tx.us, Allen.Fletcher@house.state.tx.us, Dan.Flynn@house.state.tx.us, James.Frank@house.state.tx.us, John.Frullo@house.state.tx.us, Charlie.Geren@house.state.tx.us, Helen.Giddings@house.state.tx.us, Craig.Goldman@house.state.tx.us, Larry.Gonzales@house.state.tx.us, Mary.Gonzalez@house.state.tx.us, Naomi.Gonzalez@house.state.tx.us, Lance.Gooden@house.state.tx.us, bobby.guerra@house.state.tx.us, Ryan.Guillen@house.state.tx.us, Roland.Gutierrez@house.state.tx.us, Patricia.Harless@house.state.tx.us, District105.Harper-Brown@house.state.tx.us, Ana.Hernandez@house.state.tx.us, Abel.Herrero@house.state.tx.us, Harvey.Hilderbran@house.state.tx.us, Donna.Howard@house.state.tx.us, Dan.Huberty@house.state.tx.us, Bryan.Hughes@house.state.tx.us, Todd.Hunter@house.state.tx.us, Jason.Isaac@house.state.tx.us, Eric.Johnson@house.state.tx.us, Kyle.Kacal@house.state.tx.us, James.Keffer@house.state.tx.us, Ken.King@house.state.tx.us, Phil.King@house.state.tx.us, Susan.King@house.state.tx.us, Tracy.King@house.state.tx.us, Tim.Kleinschmidt@house.state.tx.us, Stephanie.Klick@house.state.tx.us, Lois.Kolkhorst@house.state.tx.us, Matt.Krause@house.state.tx.us, John.Kuempel@house.state.tx.us, Lyle.Larson@house.state.tx.us, Jodie.Laubenberg@house.state.tx.us, George.Lavender@house.state.tx.us, Jeff.Leach@house.state.tx.us, Tryon.Lewis@house.state.tx.us, Oscar.Longoria@house.state.tx.us, jose.lozano@house.state.tx.us, Marisa.Marquez@house.state.tx.us,

District39.Martinez@house.state.tx.us, Trey.Martinez.Fischer@house.state.tx.us, Ruth.Jones.McClendon@house.state.tx.us, Jose.Menendez@house.state.tx.us, Borris.Miles@house.state.tx.us, Doug.Miller@house.state.tx.us, Rick.Miller@house.state.tx.us, Joe.Moody@house.state.tx.us, Geanie.Morrison@house.state.tx.us, Sergio.Munoz@house.state.tx.us, Jim.Murphy@house.state.tx.us, Elliott.Naishtat@house.state.tx.us, Poncho.Nevarez@house.state.tx.us, Rene.Oliveira@house.state.tx.us, Rob.Orr@house.state.tx.us, John.Otto@house.state.tx.us, Chris.Paddie@house.state.tx.us, Tan.Parker@house.state.tx.us, Diane.Patrick@house.state.tx.us, MaryAnn.Perez@house.state.tx.us, Charles.Perry@house.state.tx.us, Larry.Phillips@house.state.tx.us, Joe.Pickett@house.state.tx.us, Jim.Pitts@house.state.tx.us, Four.Price@house.state.tx.us, John.Raney@house.state.tx.us, Bennett.Ratliff@house.state.tx.us, Richard.Raymond@house.state.tx.us, rraymondtx@aol.com, Ron.Reynolds@house.state.tx.us, Debbie.Riddle@house.state.tx.us, Allan.Ritter@house.state.tx.us, Eddie.Rodriguez@house.state.tx.us, Justin.Rodriguez@house.state.tx.us, Toni.Rose@house.state.tx.us, Scott.Sanford@house.state.tx.us, Matt.Schaefer@house.state.tx.us, Kenneth.Sheets@house.state.tx.us, j.d.sheffield@house.state.tx.us, Ralph.Sheffield@house.state.tx.us, Ron.Simmons@house.state.tx.us, David.Simpson@house.state.tx.us, Wayne.Smith@house.state.tx.us, John.Smithee@house.state.tx.us, Drew.Springer@house.state.tx.us, Phil.Stephenson@house.state.tx.us, Jonathan.Stickland@house.state.tx.us, Mark.Strama@house.state.tx.us,

district121.straus@house.state.tx.us, Van.Taylor@house.state.tx.us, Ed.Thompson@house.state.tx.us, Senfronia.Thompson@house.state.tx.us, Steve.Toth@house.state.tx.us, Chris.Turner@house.state.tx.us, Scott.Turner@house.state.tx.us, Sylvester.Turner@house.state.tx.us, Jason.Villalba@house.state.tx.us, Michael.Villarreal@house.state.tx.us, Hubert.Vo@house.state.tx.us, Armando.Walle@house.state.tx.us, James.White@house.state.tx.us, Paul.Workman@house.state.tx.us, Gene.Wu@house.state.tx.us,  Bill.Zedler@house.state.tx.us, John.Zerwas@house.state.tx.us, Brian.Birdwell@senate.state.tx.us, Donna.Campbell@senate.state.tx.us, John.Carona@senate.state.tx.us, Wendy.Davis@senate.state.tx.us, bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us, Robert.Duncan@senate.state.tx.us, Rodney.Ellis@senate.state.tx.us, Kevin.Eltife@senate.state.tx.us, Craig.Estes@senate.state.tx.us, Troy.Fraser@senate.state.tx.us, Sylvia.Garcia@senate.state.tx.us, Kelly.Hancock@senate.state.tx.us, Glenn.Hegar@senate.state.tx.us, Juan.Hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us, Joan.Huffman@senate.state.tx.us, Eddie.Lucio@senate.state.tx.us, Jane.Nelson@senate.state.tx.us, Robert.Nichols@senate.state.tx.us, Dan.Patrick@senate.state.tx.us, Ken.Paxton@senate.state.tx.us, Jose.Rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us, Charles.Schwertner@senate.state.tx.us, Kel.Seliger@senate.state.tx.us, Larry.Taylor@senate.state.tx.us, Carlos.Uresti@senate.state.tx.us, Leticia.VandePutte@senate.state.tx.us, Kirk.Watson@senate.state.tx.us, Royce.West@senate.state.tx.us, John.Whitmire@senate.state.tx.us, Tommy.Williams@senate.state.tx.us, Judith.Zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us, USBFLeg@gmail.com
Share on Facebook

HB 1706 and 741 pass out of committee!

posted on Apr 05, 2013 in Central Texas News, Mother-Friendly Legislation, News, Statewide News, Texas by
, , , ,

Great news Texas!  Both breastfeeding bills up for consideration in our Texas legislature have passed out of the Business and Industry Committee.  Now they need to be put on the calendar for consideration by the full house and senate respectively.  We still have a lot of work to do in moving these bills through.  Our legislative session is very short and if they don’t make it out of the Calendar Committee these important pieces of legislation will lie dormant for another 2 years.

Which bills are we talking about?

HB 1706 Strengthens the right to breastfeed in public

HB 741 Extends pumping protections for working mothers who are also public employees (including school districts)

What you can do:

Write letters to the Calendar Committee members asking them to add these bills to the house callendar quickly.  There are several examples of letters that you can make your own and send along to the calendar committee as well as your own representative here.

Find your rep here

Here are the members of the Calendar Committee.

Position Member
Chair: Rep. Todd Hunter
Vice Chair: Rep. Eddie Lucio III
Members: Rep. Roberto R. Alonzo
Rep. Carol Alvarado
Rep. Dan Branch
Rep. Angie Chen Button
Rep. Byron Cook
Rep. Myra Crownover
Rep. Sarah Davis
Rep. Craig Eiland
Rep. John Frullo
Rep. Charlie Geren
Rep. Helen Giddings
Rep. John Kuempel
Rep. Doug Miller
Share on Facebook

HB 1706 strengthens the right to breastfeed law

posted on Feb 26, 2013 in Central Texas News, HMHB News, Mother-Friendly Legislation, News, Statewide News, Texas by
, , , , , ,

Show your support for this legislation that increases public health and awareness.

Thank you to Representative Farrar for introducing amendments to the current right to breastfeed legislation.  Under our current legislation, even though it is strongly worded, we continue to receive reports of discrimination year after year.  Mothers report being accosted at the park, in restaurants, department stores, and most recently at AISD.  For many moms it is very embarrassing to attempt to breastfeed in public especially in the first months.  Many moms report that they are so afraid someone will say something negative that they pump milk in order to feed their baby if he\she gets hungry when they are out.  Many problems occur when this fear is fostered.  First, a mothers ability to make milk for her baby is very fragile.  If she does not take milk from the breast each time that the baby eats, she is telling her body that she doesn’t need to make that milk.  Her body responds through either severe engorgement which can lead to infection, loss of milk production, or both.  No mother should be asked to put her health or her baby’s health at risk because it might make someone else uncomfortable to see an infant eat.  Second and just as important, when more women are giving bottles we are teaching the next generation that babies should eat processed foods from a bottle instead of human milk from their mother.  Both consequences are dangerous not just to moms and babies now but generations to come.

The language in this bill that will fulfill the goal that HMHB has had for many years in educating businesses of the right of mothers to feed their children and establishing recourse if that right is abridged.

The bill adds to sec. 165.001: “The legislature intends that all persons be informed of the rights of breast-feeding mother and child and be prohibited from interfering with those rights.”

it adds important language to sec. 165.002 as well (underlined):  “A mother is entitled to breast-feed her baby in any location in which the mother is otherwise authorized to be.  A mother’s authority to be in a location may not be revoked for the sole reason that she begins to breast-feed.

b. A person may not interfere with or restrict the right of  a mother to breast-feed in accordance with this section.

HB 1706 also instructs the comptroller to notify businesses of the current law which has been Texas law since 1995 and ensures the right of civil complaints if that right is denied.  Please tell Representative Farrar thank you for her contribution to healthy moms and babies all across Texas and let your representative know that you want them to co sponsor this bill.

Who represents me?

Full language and instructions on how to follow this bill here.

 

Share on Facebook

Breastfeeding Challenge 2012

posted on Oct 11, 2012 in Current Efforts, HMHB News, Local News by
, , , , , , , , ,

 

Even with the rainy day many moms and babies joined us for the Quintessence Breastfeeding Challenge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share on Facebook

Resources for Bastrop evacuees

posted on Sep 09, 2011 in Central Texas News by
, , ,

Visit http://www.co.bastrop.tx.us/ for full details

There are many donation sites around Austin.  Please support our neighbors in their time of need.

September 8, 2011

PM Edition

Resources for Bastrop Complex Evacuees

 

•  Official Evacuation Shelters:

§  Celebration Community Church, 107 Longhorn Street, Bastrop 512-332-2537

§  Ascension Catholic Church, 802 Pine Street, Bastrop 512-321-2452

§  Smithville Recreation Center, Hwy 95 and 1st Street, Smithville 512-237-3282

These Official Shelters are state supported and donations of food and clothing are no longer necessary.

 

•  At this time we have ample supplies of water.  Donations are no longer necessary at the shelters

 

•  Aqua Water Supply customers in Zones 1, 2, 4, 5, and 8 should check the company’s website for updated boil water notices www.aquawsc.com

 

•  Donation Hotlines

Austin Disaster Relief Network 512-331-2200

Bastrop Donation Hotline 512-332-8977

Bastrop Christian Ministerial Alliance, P.O. Box 876, Bastrop 78602

—checks should be made out to BCMA

 

•  Financial donations to the evacuees are preferable to those of goods.  Additional information regarding financial donations is available at 512-332-8977 or512-332-8661.

 

•  Donations of goods to the Bastrop Christian Ministerial Alliance can be dropped off at Rundell Business Center located at 704 Highway 71 West, Monday – Friday, 11 a.m. – 9 p.m., additional information is available at 512-332-8661

 

•  Texas Agrilife Extension Service is coordinating a livestock feed and hay distribution at the Bastrop Livestock Show Barn and Rodeo, located on Loop 150, behind the American Legion.  If you want to donate feed and hay,  they are still needed for distribution.  For additional information contact Rachel Bauer, County Extension Agent, at512-468-7953.

 

To report loose livestock or request other related assistance, contact Bastrop Sheriff’s Office.

Share on Facebook